THE POWER OF POWERPOINTS!

During my professional experience, I used PowerPoint quite a lot for my lessons.  This was a request of my mentor.  While at times I felt they were great, there were other times I felt they were not as effective.  I found myself writing up a lesson plan and then making a PowerPoint.  For some of my lessons I only did the PowerPoint , as I found doing both being quite time consuming, when I was making resources for some lesson also.

I took an interest in looking up the best ways of using PowerPoints in the classroom.  I came across an article called ‘Using PowerPoint in the Classroom’ and if you are interested, click on the article and have a read.  It gives some great tips on getting the best out of PowerPoints and the ‘Dos’ and ‘Don’ts’ about using PowerPoints in the classroom.

I also read the article ‘Does PowerPoint help or hinder learning?’   This article had both positive and negative points about using PowerPoints in the classroom.

I do believe they can be a great tool, but I do not believe I will be using them for every lesson in the future.

Leave a Reply

